Welcome

Earnslaw Burn

My name is Maria. I’m 26 years old, and I was recently bitten by the travel bug. Apart from a month in the US and a week on my own in the Scottish Highlands 8 years ago, I really haven’t done much traveling – and when I’ve been out, it’s always been on somebody else’s agenda.

That changed this past winter, when I and good friend went abroad for 3,5 months: starting 5 days in Singapore, almost 3 months in New Zealand, a week in Fiji and a week in Australia. In New Zealand we bought a car in Auckland, and proceeded to drive it all over the country for the next couple of months – it was a Honda Odyssey station wagon that we had a proper bed installed in, and we lived in the car. Total freedom – new places every day (at least until we based ourselves in Queenstown for a month of work). I *loved* it!

Since then, I’ve been itching to get going again. Preferably road tripping – I want to eventually drive across most of Europe, and most of the U.S. of A. I want to experience the landscape, food (and beer), languages, history and of course the weather of those two great places. US national parks, tiny 500-year-old villages of Europe and everything in between.

I also want to experience more than Europe and the US, but right now that is the priority.

I am starting this blog (and hopefully a life with much more travelling) with a couple of days in Prague later this month!

Leave a Reply

